September 13-16, 2000

Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery in Databases (KDD) have emerged from a combination of many research areas: databases, statistics, machine learning, automated scientific discovery, inductive logic, programming, artificial intelligence, visualization, decision science, and high performance computing. While each of these areas can contribute in specific ways, KDD focuses on the value that is added by creative combination of the contributing areas. The goal of PKDD-2000 is to provide a European- based forum for interaction among all theoreticians and practitioners interested in data mining. Interdisciplinary collaboration is one desired outcome, but the main long-term focus is on theoretical principles for the emerging discipline of KDD and on practical applications of discovery systems that are built on those principles. We seek the KDD-specific principles that go beyond each contributing area. We seek a new generation of applications that go beyond applications developed in each contributing area.

PKDD-2000 will be held at the University of Lyon 2.
Lyon is the second city of France (1.2M inhabitants).

Topics Of Interest

 Data and knowledge representation for data mining

Statistics and probability in data mining Logic-based perspective on data mining Data warehousing and knowledge discovery Man-Machine interaction in data mining Artificial Intelligence contributions to KDD High performance computing for data mining Machine learning and automated scientific discovery Quality assessment of data mining results Applications of data mining and knowledge discovery KDD process
  • Discovery in enterprise databases
  • Prediction and intervention use of knowledge
  • Mining many databases
  • New KDD algorithms

  • Program Committee
    Program Chairs:
             Djamel A. Zighed       University Lyon 2 (France)
             Jan Komorowski         Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim (Norway)

    Magnus L. Andersson, AstraZeneca, Moelndal  (Sweden)
    Petr Berka, University of Economics, Prague  (Czech Republic)
    Jean-François Boulicaut, INSA Lyon  (France)
    Henri Briand, University of Nantes         (France)
    Leonardo Carbonara, American Management System, London (U.K.)
    Luc De Raedt, Albert-Ludwigs University, Freiburg   (Germany)
    Ronen Feldman, Bar-Ilan University, Ramat Gan    Israel)
    Arthur Flexer, Austrian Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence,Vienna (Austria)
    Alex Freitas, Catholic Pontifical University, Curitiba (Brasil)
    Patrick Gallinari, University Paris VI (France)
    Jean-Gabriel Ganascia, University Paris VI (France)
    Mohand-Said Hacid, University Lyon I & INSA Lyon (France)
    Petr Hajek, Academy of Sciences, Prague (Czech Republic)
    Howard J. Hamilton, University of Regina (Canada)
    David J. Hand, Imperial College, London (U.K.)
    Mika Klemettinen, University of Helsinki (Finland)
    Willi Kloesgen, Institute for Autonomous Intelligent Systems, Sankt Augustin (Germany)
    Yves Kodratoff, University Paris-Sud (France)
    Jan Komorowski, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim (Norway)
    Jacek Koronacki, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw (Poland)
    Michel Lamure, University Lyon I (France)
    Heikki Mannila, Helsinki University of Technology (Finland)
    Stan Matwin, University of Ottawa (Canada)
    Hiroshi Motoda, Osaka University (Japan)
    Jan Mrazek, Bank of Montreal, Toronto (Canada)
    Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, Edmonton (Canada)
    Mohamed Quafafou, University of Nantes (France)
    Ricco Rakotomalala, University Lyon II (France)
    Zbigniew W. Ras, University of North Carolina, Charlotte (USA)
    Gilbert Ritschard, University of Geneva (Switzerland)
    Michele Sebag, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris (France)
    Arno Siebes, Center for Mathematics and Computer Science (CWI), Amsterdam (Netherlands)
    Andrzej Skowron, Warsaw University (Poland)
    Myra Spiliopoulou, Humboldt University, Berlin (Germany)
    Nicolas Spyratos, University Paris-Sud (France)
    Olga Stepankova, Czech Technical University, Prague (Czech Republic)
    Einoshin Suzuki, Yokohama National University (Japan)
    Ljupco Todorovski, Josef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana (Slovenia)
    Shusaku Tsumoto, Shimane Medical University, School of Medicine (Japan)
    Gilles Venturini, University of Tours (France)
    Inkeri Verkamo, University of Helsinki (Finland)
    Louis Wehenkel, University of Liege (Belgium)
    Gerhard Widmer, University of Vienna (Austria)
    Rudiger Wirth, Daimler-Chrysler AG Research and Technology, Ulm (Germany)
    Stefan Wrobel, Otto-von-Guericke University, Magdeburg (Germany)
    Ning Zhong, Yamaguchi University, Ube (Japan)
    Djamel A. Zighed, University Lyon II (France)
    Jan Zytkow, University of North Carolina, Charlotte (USA)

    Submission Of Papers

    Submitted papers should be in English in LNCS style and not exceed 10 pages
    (excluding title page but including tables, figures and bibliography). A separate title
    page should begin with title, authors, affiliations, surface and e-mail addresses, and an
    abstract of about 200 words. LNCS style of LaTeX and Word files are available at the web site
    An electronic version of the paper must be submitted by May 12th (extended), 2000. Electronic
    submission can be done using e-mail to (uuencoded and
    compressed PostScript) or using the form on the PKDD2000 web page (PostScript).
    Four hard copies of the paper by regular mail are also requested if electronic submission is not possible.
    All items should be sent to the following addresses:
    Regular mail:
    E.R.I.C._Lyon, Bat. L, Universite Lumiere Lyon 2,
    5 avenue Pierre Mendes-France
    F69676 Bron Cedex, France I
    Electronic mail:


    Important Dates
    February, 28th Tutorial proposals (, postscript preferred)
    March, 14th Notification of Tutorials acceptance/rejection
    February, 28th Workshop proposals (e-mail to
    March, 14th Notification of Worshops acceptance/rejection
    May, 12th (extended) Papers submission deadline
    June, 5th Notification of papers acceptance/rejection
    June, 30th Camera ready papers